Album at a glance: Jerry Forney – Ridin’ The Rails

Jerry Forney - Ridin' The Rails

Jerry Forney lives and breathes the blues but that isn’t all there is to him. You’ll find a fair share of country heart on his latest record “Ridin’ The Rails” as well. On “Down South” Forney throws down a straight forward Nashville romp delivered barbeque blues style. He still shines when letting the blues guitar runs flow like on “Ridin’ The Rails” and the Dire Straits inspired “Cumberland Blues.” He also does a very good job with some traditional covers here of “Wayfaring Stranger” and “Rollin’ and Tumblin’.” His best interpretation may be the well known “Baby Please Don’t Go” where he takes a lo-fi approach and lets the song settle in a slow groove where it stays. It’s another solid blues record for Forney which should come as a surprise to no one.

Key Track: “Cumberland Blues”

  1. Too Many Women
  2. Baby Please Don’t Go
  3. Cumberland Blues
  4. Long Gone Daddy
  5. Down South
  6. Love in the Hot Afternoon
  7. Missouri Moon
  8. Tequila River
  9. Silverado Blues
  10. Rollin’ and Tumblin’
  11. Ridin’ The Rails
  12. Wayfaring Stranger
This entry was posted in Album at a glance, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s